Most Uber and Lyft drivers are professionals who get you where you want to go, safely. Sometimes, though, accidents happen.
Essential Guidance for Uber and Lyft Passengers Involved in an Accident
If you are a passenger in an Uber or Lyft that is, unfortunately, in an accident during your ride, make sure you have proof of your ride. Save all text messages and emails which Uber or Lyft send to you and keep them. You know, the kind you get before you are picked up which confirms your ride, gives you a ride number, etc. In New Jersey, Uber and Lyft are required to have $1.5 million of liability coverage as well as $1.5 million in uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage, for your protection. But if you need to sue after an accident while you were an Uber or Lyft passenger, you’re going to have to show that you were in an Uber or Lyft vehicle at the time of the accident. That’s why it’s important to save all communications you get from Uber or Lyft. Also, if you are in an accident while a passenger in an Uber or Lyft, call the police and report the accident just as if you were a passenger in a friend’s car or driving your own. When the police arrive at the accident scene, be sure to speak with the officer and tell him or her that you are a Lyft or Uber passenger. Don’t let the drivers do all the talking to the police. Insist on being heard, yourself.
Important Information for Uber and Lyft Drivers in Case of an Incident or Injury
Lyft and Uber drivers, you also need to protect yourself. If you are a New Jersey Uber or Lyft driver transporting a passenger or passengers, you are protected by the $1.5 million in insurance coverage mandated by law (more information on insurance for Uber drivers here and Lyft drivers here). To get that protection, you will need to show that you were logged onto the Uber or Lyft network and were provided a pre-arranged ride. In the event you’re involved in an accident, take a screenshot of your app indicating that you are transporting a passenger. Like the passenger, if you are in an accident, you should absolutely call the police. When the police arrive, tell the investigating officer that you are a Lyft or Uber driver who is transporting a passenger.
Bottom Line: Drivers and Passengers Alike, Protect Yourself
Drivers and passengers, alike, if you don’t take these simple steps to protect yourself, there may be doubts later on about whether the accident happened during a ride that was transporting a passenger and the insurance company may refuse the $1.5 million coverage which New Jersey law mandates. Keep the evidence of your trip and protect yourself!!!!!
Contact an Experienced Uber and Lyft Accident Attorney at CourtLaw Today for Help With Your Rideshare Injury Claim
Did you or a loved one sustain serious injuries due to a car accident in New Jersey? Don’t let the medical bills pile up while you wait for the negligent party or their insurance company to do the right thing. Right now, you need an aggressive personal injury attorney on your side, fighting to get you the compensation you need, want, and deserve. The skilled attorneys at CourtLaw represent clients injured because of car accidents in Rahway, Bayonne, Woodbridge, Perth Amboy, Kearny, Irvington, and throughout New Jersey. Call (732) 442-5900 or fill out our online contact form to schedule a free consultation about your case. We have an office conveniently located at 163 Market St., Perth Amboy, New Jersey 08861, as well as offices in New Brunswick, Roselle, East Orange, Jersey City, Elizabeth, Linden, Newark, Paterson, South Amboy, and Trenton.
The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.