Truck Driver Fatigue Lawyers Linden, NJ
Seasoned Attorneys Representing Victims Injured in Serious Trucking Accidents in Union County, Essex County, and Hudson County, NJ
When a commercial truck driver has been on the road longer than allowed by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA), an agency that regulates the truck industry, fatigue susceptibility increases. Fatigue and drowsiness may cause a driver to dangerously veer into other lanes and oncoming traffic, run off the road, or crash into stopped vehicles. Because of the sheer mass of heavy trucks, truck crashes typically cause devastating injuries and, too often, fatalities. According to the National Traffic Safety Board (NTSB), commercial truck driver fatigue is a factor in 20-40% of all truck crashes.
Injured In A Truck Accident Due to Fatigue And Have Questions? We Can Help, Tell Us What Happened.
If you were injured, or if a loved one was killed, in a New Jersey truck accident, CourtLaw’s experienced truck accident attorneys can help determine the cause of the accident and win monetary compensation for your injuries and loss.
At CourtLaw, our experienced attorneys represent victims injured in accidents caused by truck driver fatigue in Middlesex County, Union County, Essex County, Hudson County, and everywhere else in New Jersey.
CourtLaw’s Paterson & Edison Truck Accident Injury Lawyers Understand Truck Driver Fatigue Safety Regulations
CourtLaw’s experienced trucking accident attorneys know the federal codes governing “hours-of-service” (HOS), or driving time, that dictate how many hours a truck driver can legally operate a commercial vehicle within a 24-hour and weekly period. Although many truck drivers believe they can accurately assess when they are too tired to drive, various studies have shown that drivers’ judgment when fatigued is diminished, rendering them unable to accurately determine whether they will be able to drive safely. That’s why federal laws stipulate how many hours a driver can be on the road without proper sleep and rest periods. The FMCSA-mandated regulations are critical to public safety.
Updated March 2017 FMCSA regulations mandate the following driver road and rest hours:
- Limits the maximum maximum work week for truck drivers to 70 hours, a decrease from the previous maximum of 82 hours.
- Allows truck drivers who reach the maximum 70 hours of driving within a week to resume if they rest for 34 consecutive hours.
- Requires truck drivers to take a 30-minute break during the first eight hours of a shift.
Also, the FMCSA requires both the truck driver and the trucking company to maintain detailed driving logs, expense receipts, and other paperwork that documents their compliance with HOS regulations. These documents must be produced upon the request of authorities that include federal, state, and local agencies, police officers, insurance companies, licensed investigators, and the courts.
What Happens When a Driver or Trucking Company Doesn’t Comply with the Hours of Service Regulations?
In some cases, in pursuit of higher profits, unscrupulous trucking companies systematically force drivers, upon threat of termination, to exceed on-the-road mandated time limits.
When a trucking company fails to comply with these regulations, they can be held legally and financially responsible for truck accidents that occur as a result. In some cases, both the driver and the trucking company may also be criminally prosecuted.
I am very pleased for the great legal support that Karim Arzadi has provided to me and my family throughout the years we have been clients of his firm. I highly recommend Mr. Arzadi and his team of attorneys.
I met the Lawyer Karim Arzadi during my last visit to New Jersey. I thank him for the advice he gave me with my case. I truly recommend his legal services.
Karim Arzadi is the best Lawyer I ever met.
Why You Should Contact CourtLaw’s Woodbridge Truck Accident Injury Attorneys Today About Your NJ Truck Crash Injuries
The laws and regulations designed to reduce accidents caused by truck driver fatigue are complex. When a trucking accident happens, it can be difficult to determine who to blame and hold legally responsible. CourtLaw’s NJ truck accident injury attorneys know precisely how to conduct investigations to determine what happened and how to hold the truck driver and trucking company responsible for your suffering.
In New Jersey, most personal injury actions have a two-year statute of limitations, but the time may vary depending on the accident circumstances. So, it’s important not to wait.
Contact New Jersey Truck Accident Injury Attorneys at CourtLaw — We Win Multi-Millions for Our Clients in Old Bridge, Elizabeth, and Across NJ
CourtLaw’s New Jersey truck accident injury attorneys have over 30 years of experience utilizing our knowledge, resources, and skills to maneuver through the insurance claims process and the personal injury civil court litigation process. On your behalf, CourtLaw’s caring, respectful, compassionate attorneys will take over. We will handle the chaos and confusion of filing insurance claims, dealing with attorneys, and, if necessary, pursuing personal injury monetary damages through a civil court lawsuit.
Contact us today for a FREE case evaluation so that we can advise you of how you may be able to recover rightful monetary compensation. We represent clients in Middlesex County, Union County, Essex County, Hudson County, Mercer County, and throughout the rest of New Jersey. We’re available 24/7. Call now for a quick response.